This recent article in the New York Times Magazine by Michael Pollan touches on the issues I’ve been thinking about in these last two environmentally themed posts.  He examines the utility of changing lightbulbs to fight climate change in the face of carbon-hungry developing economies.  While he then goes on to agree with Mr. Gore’s further insistence to change laws as well as lightbulbs, the interesting part is that Pollan suggests that the lifestyle changes are a critical part of the equation.

The Big Problem is nothing more or less than the sum total of countless little everyday choices, most of them made by us (consumer spending represents 70 percent of our economy), and most of the rest of them made in the name of our needs and desires and preferences.

At the end, he recommends that we plant gardens. It something that I’ve been considering doing here at home where the space is available and the conditions are right.  It makes me think of my friends in Portland who have so much success with their garden – and, what’s more, with that quasi-magical process of composting.  They’ve got worms!  It also brings to mind John Adams.  The mini-series on his life just concluded on HBO and one of thee things that struck me was how much they showed him to be a farmer; working until his final days with the soil he obviously loved.  Of course, he was not alone among the Founding Fathers in that occupation.  I think it is worth a try.

(In fact, I’m jumping in my SUV and driving to Home Depot to grab some fertilizer and start reducing my carbon footprint right now!)

