I was surprised by a few of the findings in this collection of modern studies about coffee from the New York Times.  Especially this one, “It was long thought that caffeinated beverages were diuretics, but studies reviewed last year found that people who consumed drinks with up to 550 milligrams of caffeine produced no more urine than when drinking fluids free of caffeine. … Drinks containing usual doses of caffeine are hydrating and, like water, contribute to the body’s daily water needs.”  I have always been careful to drink water before my morning cup of joe because I felt like drinking water after coffee was a zero-sum game.  And, we hsould keep in mind that, like other stimulatns, coffee does increase gastrointestinal motility.  Which can be really useful sometimes.

On Monday, I caught the Amtrak train down from San Jose.  On my way down from San Mateo, William and I stopped to get coffee at Bean Street Coffee.  (Link goes to their overwhelmingly positive yelp* page)  I’ve noticed before that they advertise kopi luwak for sale, but this time I happened to see it on the menu: only $39/cup or $635/pound!  This is the only cafe I’ve ever seen that offers it.

William and I went with slightly more quotidian choices.  They were worth every penny.

