The boat is still in Almerimar, close to Almeria, but I’ve come up for a weekend in Madrid.  We rented a car and drove up through the beautiful landscapes near Granada on Friday.  Friday evening we met up with a friend from the English school I used to teach at here, Marian.  She had some of her amigas with her and we had drinks and tapas while we caught up.  It’s been years since we’ve seen each other, but she’s good people.  We fell right back into it.  

Saturday we walked around from where our hostal is near Plaza Cibeles to the Palacio Real.  I bought a cheap Chinese guitar in the very cool musical instrument store near the opera.  I think the staff was sad that I didn’t buy a Spanish-made guitar, but I’m afraid the thing might get destroyed on the boat.  Last night we met up with another former colleague from the English school and a friend from Tarifa for another night of copas.  

Today, we’re going to check out the Rastro a bit before I head back down.  I have to get back to the boat because we are having repairs done early Monday morning.

More on that, and what happened between the Balearics and here, later.

