I’m falling woefully behind on the posting here.  My apologies to all and sundry.

Right now Andrew and I are in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria.  We are catching a flight from here to Dakar, Senegal tonight.  We are going to travel around Senegal, through The Gambia, down to Guinea’Bissau and over to Mali and Burkina Faso.  At least that’s the plan.  Things in Africa may affect our itinerary.  Already we have decided not to go to Guinea since we saw this article about a massacre carried out by the government.  Don’t worry too much about us, we have no interest in putting ourselves in harm’s way.  A little discomfort to see some amazing places, yes, but life-threatening situations, no.

I hope that I’ll be able to add brief updates here as we go.  I’ll fill in the gaps on our arrival to the Canaries and the last days in Spain and Gibraltar some time later.

For now, I’m excited to have nothing to do with sailing for a good long while.  We’re backpackers now.

